Freeform

I always sew with a pattern.  But I’ve been feeling like going off-script lately.

Found this little burlap canvas, pre-made and ready for stitches:

20161002_202442

because I have an awesome crafty friend who gifted me a lot of supplies.   So many that I’m just finally going through them thoroughly (watch this space for updates on a Craft Room!) and finding so much inspiration.

So, I’ve been looking at this for a few days and even though I have a few other far more pressing projects to complete, I somehow needed to do something freeform.

I’ve never gone freeform.

So, then this happened:

20161003_194300

and I don’t know what it’s going to be yet, but I’m going freeform …

And as I looked over my floss to pull some more colors …

(I want it to echo the colors in this painting we have:

20160703_191841)

which, yes, I realize is basically all the colors.

But it’s the way they’re combined.

Then I laughed at myself because these first two colors that I stitched are the same as my kitchen backsplash …

20161003_194321_001

20161003_194300

So, you can take the pattern away from the girl, but you can’t get her favorite colors out of her head.  (no trust me, that phrase is totally going to catch on…)

I’m procrastinating.

Or I’m starting something that’s just for me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

