Hudson Valley Saturday

Today we ventured north to Rhinebeck, to check out the Country Living Fair , held on the Duchess County Fairgrounds.  It was a gorgeous day and we had a great time!  There were tons of vendors with a good mix of antiques, salvage items, new crafts, jewelry and food.  There were events going on throughout the day, as well.

The fairgrounds were very nice — I mean, it’s no Great Minnesota Get Together, but really, now, what is? Mmmm… cheese curds. But I digress.  One thing I especially liked was the simplicity of the decorations.  There were multi-colored bandanas hanging everywhere, and they added a kind of elegant, casual, country-ish looking pop to things.  There was also so much oilcloth!  It really inspired me to find some online and cover my picnic table and make some outdoor pillows and placemats.  All over the front area of the fair were little oilcloth flags —

flagsCute, right?

The landscape design of the fairgrounds was also really nice– lots of flowering shrubs everywhere, and one area where some roses were going crazy.

roses

Here’s a couple things we super-liked….

we LOVE these chairs for our dining room, but since we are no where near getting the dining room done AND I'm not in a position to go buying chairs for a room that's not ready for them, we passed them by.  But I superlove them,

we LOVE these chairs for our dining room, but since we are no where near getting the dining room done AND I’m not in a position to go buying chairs for a room that’s not ready for them, we passed them by. But I superlove them.

I think this is a planter at the bottom with chicken wire up the board to allow climbing plants to grow right up the piece.  Thought this was overpriced, and Chris can make one for me instead!  Maybe for our garden, summer 2014....

I think this is a planter at the bottom with chicken wire up the board to allow climbing plants to grow right up the piece. Thought this was overpriced, and Chris can make one for me instead! Maybe for our garden, summer 2014….

I used to work with The Milk Can Theatre Company, and this made me think of my dear friends there, as well as the divine Julie Balzer!

I used to work with The Milk Can Theatre Company, and this made me think of my dear friends there, as well as the divine Julie Balzer!

So, besides a mild sunburn, what did I got home with?

How was your Saturday?  Happy summer!!

Leave a Reply

