Crafty Tale #6: a little decoupage …

In my ongoing quest to make things look bright, cheery and cute, I decided to decoupage some light switch plates.  It was SO easy and SO inexpensive.  The white covers were purchased for 47 cents each at Home Depot.  I remembered I had some paper that kind of resembled the rug in our “new” room, and of course, we at the Larsen house buy Mod Podge by the gallon.

I traced the plates on the back of the paper, cut it with a paper cutter and used an X-acto knife to cut out the holes.  I brushed Mod Podge on the plate, added the paper and then added about 3 more coats of Mod Podge, letting it dry between coats.  The screws just popped through later, with another little poke from the X-acto knife.

They’re certainly not perfect up close, but on the wall, in the room, I think they look really cute.

One thought on “Crafty Tale #6: a little decoupage …

Leave a Reply

