Crafty Tale # 5: Silver leafing

In another case of something in the house where we love the shape but don’t love the style, (see lamps!) there was a switch plate cover near the front door that is ceramic, nicely made and a great shape.  In a grand experiment, I decided to silver leaf it!  This was my first real silver leafing project, but I”m happy with the results.

Silver leafing is fairly easy — you just put some adhesive on the surface, lay the silver leaf paper over it, rub it like a transfer and there you go!  It took several sheets of silver leaf and I finished it with some spray adhesive.  I left it with some unfinished spots and crackles to give it an old look.  And I really like the way it looks against the green wall.

Leave a Reply

