Happy new year!

Here’s wishing you a great 2013!

Along with my many other new year’s resolutions, I am going to work on updating this blog more regularly.  Time really gets away from me, and before I know it, a month has gone by with no posts.  We have not had too much going on at the old homestead…. took some time off of major projects for the holidays.  We are currently stripping/ sanding the wood around the windows in the entryway.

front room woodwork 1.7The entry way and hallway will be painted green!  I’m excited to get to the painting part, but there’s a ways to go before we get there. While Chris is working on the window frames, I’m starting on this weird old radiator that is so glopped in beige paint it’s hard to make out any detail.  But there is detail under there, and I’m going to find it!  Stay tuned for the exciting gloppy beige paint photos– I promise, they won’t disappoint.  I forgot to photograph the thing before I started, but I’m sure you will get the idea ….  I think most of my January free time will be taken up by this radiator, so I will try to find some other things to talk about …  Not that radiators aren’t exciting– especially OLD radiators, but I like to mix it up.

We are also working on the trim around the dining room entrance and stripping and refinishing the pocket doors between the front entryway and the dining room.  To that end, Chris took the pocket doors off their runner-things (technical term) and we learned that pocket doors must have made a great place to display holiday cards!  Stuck back in the wall we found these cards — any guess on a year?  An era?

found xmas cards

 

Leave a Reply

