Fun with meteorology

Here’s you:  What IS that?

Here’s me:  It’s a rain gauge, duh.

Here’s you:  A what?

Here’s me: Um … let’s let Chris explain.  Chris?

Hello !

Chris here. I have been a weather enthusiast for quite a while and getting a house with a yard gave me the chance to get a high quality rain gauge. The gauge I have is the exact same model the meteorologists at the National Weather Service and city utilities managers use, so you know its not only fun but deadly accurate.

I have been taking a reading of the gauge every morning at 8am , then entering the amount at the CoCoRahs website –  the Community Collaborative Rain, Hail and Snow Network. If you’re interested in precipitation data or joining the CoCoRaHS network you can find all the information and training you’ll need at their website : http://www.cocorahs.org/ .  While you’re there be sure to check out my rain gauge readings — I’m station name NY-WC-11. Here’s an educational video to get you started :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBbO4FnNizg&feature=relmfu

Thanks !

Chris

Here’s me again:  You should totally watch that video.  It’s short and it’s also awesome.

Here’s you:  What is wrong with you people?

Here’s me:  Whatever.  I maybe got lead paint poisoning over the weekend, ok?  Give me a break.

Here’s me again, just real quick before I go:  That’s the rain gauge on its pole next to our new Leyland Cypress trees.  If this Hurricane Sandy comes our way this weekend, look out for some *very* exciting rain gauge updates next week!

(Also, a fun fact about Chris … He really is kind of a weather enthusiast.  He can generally guess the temperature to within a few degrees just by stepping outside.  This is not a skill that has brought fame, fortune or any kind of acclaim, really, but it never fails to amuse me…)

3 thoughts on “Fun with meteorology

  1. Chris-

    “I saw you and him (and him) walking in the raiiiin… You were holding hands, and I’ll… Never be the saaaaaaaame.”

    Rain gauges are for nerds. So, carry on, cutie:o).

  2. Pingback: I bet you were wondering about the precipitation levels at our place… | The Larsens Live Here

Leave a Reply

